God Is Not Worried

via lamp-of-diogenes.blogspot.com

Here’s a good word for anyone fretting over her future.

Many of us good Christians have the notion that God is, well, perfect.  And rightly so.  Did not Jesus instruct his followers to “be perfect … as your heavenly Father is perfect” (Mt 5:48)?  That’s a good thing.  What would be the point of worshiping an imperfect God?

Still, when we get around to thinking about our futures, the Lord’s holiness can seem daunting.  We begin, often in good nature, to wring our hands over God’s will for our lives.  We sweat and bite our nails and squirm in our chairs when we’re forced to think of our plans intersecting the Lord’s will – “his good, pleasing and [gasp!] perfect will” (Rom 12:2).

What if I get it wrong?  What if I decide to get married and God wanted me to be single?  What if I go to law school, but God hoped I would go to medical school?  What if I have a child too early?  What if I have a child too late?  What if I switch jobs?  What if I switch churches?  What if I’m wrong?

We worry that we might upset the Lord’s perfect plans.  If we miss His will, we can’t go back and un-miss it.  We’re doomed!

Here’s a good word for anyone fretting over his future: God is not worried.

So what if you miss?  (And you will.)  Have you suddenly hamstrung the Creator?  Have you befuddled the Ancient of Days?  Have you found the one loophole for which the cross had not accounted?

We’ve been raised to equate perfection with rigidity, that there is but one way in which something might be perfect. Perfection is a straight line.

But perhaps the very nature of perfection is flexibility.  Perhaps the very thing that makes God holy is His willingness to adjust to circumstance, and do so without losing the ultimate objective.  A perfect game in baseball is a game in which the pitcher does not allow an opposing batter to reach base.  Twenty-seven men come to bat; twenty-seven men record outs.  There is no requirement, however, that the pitcher record those outs in a particular manner.  Strikeouts, pop flies, grounders.  It doesn’t matter, so long as they produce outs.

So if you’re fretting over your future today, or any other day, remember this: Whatever you choose, God is not worried.

9 thoughts on “God Is Not Worried

  1. I like the ending there. Interesting thought. I’m not entirely sold on open theism, but this definitely got me thinking. Thanks!

  2. I’ve been thinking about narrative theology lately. if we view God as a participant in the narrative, not just the author but also a character within the story, then the flexibility of God’s actions within the storyline seems to make sense. The plot may be written but the chapters are in progress.

    1. I think you’re on to something, Paul. Although, I wonder about the degree to which the full plot has been written. I believe there’s a true goal towards which God is driving, and we can have every confidence He’ll get there, how He gets there may still be unwritten.

  3. Thanks for your post. I really struggle with this issue about the future and missing the will of the Lord for my life.

  4. Loved this! One more thought: perfection, pictured as a straight line, is two-dimensional. But reality has more than two dimensions… and God is more powerful, loving, capable, etc. than we could ever comprehend.

  5. This is really good, Mike. I have been thinking through a lot of this recently and am on the same page. Reading this was really refreshing and it brought much confirmation to the process I’ve been in. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

