Judgment: It Sucks No Matter How You Look at It

The news of the day, it seems, is that Casey Anthony is not guilty of killing her two-year-old daughter Caylee two years ago.  Color me ignorant, but this is the first I’d heard of the case.  I stumbled upon it only after a friend Facebook’d something about it.  (I know, get with the program.  This is a Twitter world!)

Nevertheless, a brief review of the case, or, more accurately, the responses to it (people are confused or pissed or both, I guess), have got me thinking about judgment.

Let’s assume for a moment she did murder her child.  If I’m convinced she did it, and I make a judgment against her, as a killer, where does that put me?  On the one hand, I’ll be right (whether anyone else knows it).  So there’s that.  On the other hand, I’ll go the rest of my life convinced justice had not been done and wishing I could do something to bring that judgment.  More often than not, that will lead a person to perpetual anger and bitterness.  I may be right, but I’ve lost.

Assume Casey did not kill her daughter, and I’m positive she did.  Now, I’m not only settling in for a lifetime grudge-fest, I’m also wrong.  That stinks on two counts.

What do I get by judging?  Either the pride of being right and a boatload of misery.  Or just misery.

Well, that sucks either way.  So what do I do?

The good news, if you believe in a God of justice, is that you don’t have to worry about it.  Let it go.  Let someone much bigger than you take care of it, whether in this life or on the last day.  You never know, you might live longer or happier.

More on this anon.

One thought on “Judgment: It Sucks No Matter How You Look at It

Leave a Reply

